Gas Prices and Popcorn


The laziest man I ever met put popcorn in his pancakes so they would turn over by themselves.
W. C. Fields

Don’t you read things in the newspaper that just make you laugh. My husband loves to read the newspaper out loud to me so I can laugh without losing my place.

Today there was an article on popcorn. Here is the way it went. The price of popcorn has gone up 40% during the last year. The average person eats 54 quarts of popcorn a year. The reason the price has gone up???? Because the price of oil is so high that the need for ethanol has increased and the corn farmers just don’t have enough land to raise popcorn and field corn needed for ethanol. THEREFORE…the reason we are paying more for popcorn is because we don’t like to pay so much for gas.

Actually popcorn gives me gas…I have no idea where I am going with this. It just seems amusing to me.

b

Leave a Reply

