Little Women then and Now!!!

That is a good book which is opened with expectation and closed with profit. ~Amos Bronson Alcott

Amos Alcott was the father of Louisa May Alcott, author of Little Women. ( The link provided here would allow you to read it online.) He was one of the true believers in transcendentalism and a contemporary of Ralph Waldo Emerson and Thoreau. I love it when I come across these little gems when I am looking for something else. The thing that made me smile as I read about him though was that he loved to talk and did not always know where the conversation was going. Endless wandering often brought his listener to their knees.

I was in the home he lived in near Concord, Mass. The idea that Louisa May Alcott may have used this place as a setting for Little Women fascinated me. It was one of my favorite books as a child.

I am reading The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros for my book club. I suppose you could call it a moden day Little Women. You could read it in an evening. It is not a L.M.Alcott quality book but I am finding it interesting.

I would love to visit Mango Street someday.

b

2 thoughts on “Little Women then and Now!!!

  1. I’ve been to her house/museum in Concord,MA plus she summered in my home town of Norwell, MA. Right up the street from where I grew up. I’ll have to check out “the house on Mango Street”. But first I have to finish Harry Potter + my new book club book, “nineteen minutes”

  2. just surfed in through blogsofwomen. Louisa May Alcott is one of my favorite authors and I also visited her home in Mass and felt the same way.

Leave a Reply

