The individual that had the idea that we could do this thing called blogging everyday was a genius. Make a change. Create a meme that will spread as a new idea building on an old idea. Promote a cause. Write beautiful words or poems. Use the therapy of writing to overcome the grief of cancer or losing a loved one or depression. Let other people read your words, comment, connect and make friends from around the world.
To the original blogger, whoever you are, thank you, thank you, thank you.


I own two blogs. The summer is a very busy time for me and I find myself neglecting other things in order to do what I need to do to keep the blogs up and running. Getting people to read, satisfying the creative part of my personality and writing to change things, demands my attention. The ironing..well not so much. I do feel bad that my husband has to kick me to get my attention but he seems to survive. He knows I love him a lot and I actually will cook a good meal once in a while.

I am coming up on 2000 unique page loads on this blog and my other blog has had about 300 views since July the 17 when it was originally posted. So what ever is going on I cannot complain, not at all.

When I read Mary Pipher’s Writing to Change the World, I began to think about where I live and the frustrations of living in a condo. In case you don’t know it, when you live in a condo, you give up a lot of control over your environment. Some of it is good and some of it is not. You are at the mercy of a board and restrictive covenants. For those of us that spent their entire working career being in charge, the idea of not being in charge has a certain appeal. The rub here is…YOU ARE NOT IN CHARGE. It could drive you nuts!!

As a result a neighborhood blog was born. It talks about solution, problems, gardens, recipes, book groups and The Neighbor. Orenco Station Opinions now has a life of its own. The Neighbor, a personality that lives in our community, is not a real person. He/She has opinions and occasionally rants a bit! There is no real way to tell if it has made a difference but doing something that could cause change helps the neighborhood keep it’s sanity. There are other writers but we all remain anonymous (semi). All in all it is a good thing.

I love to blog. I wonder how many of these I could keep going? Like everyone that does this I will keep going until I find out. It is so much fun. So I will say it one more time…to the original blogger, whoever you are, thank you, thank you, thank you!

b

Leave a Reply

