at a loss for words? found in newspaper: WORDS

I know I have said this before but you may not be following so I will say it again…I love to have my husband read the newspaper to me. (I don’t necessarily believe everything I read/hear but still I am interested.) Yesterday I was drinking a glass of wine while our pork satay was cooking and he came to a page in the newspaper that stopped us in our tracks. ONE PAGE!!!
On this one single page we found three separate items that we discussed in detail:

1) Our community has been chosen as one of the 10 best places in our nation to retire. (There was nothing online that I could find. When I typed this item in Google search the obituaries came up. sigh!!!!)

2) A newspaper columnist
S. Renee Mitchell had managed to get a Starbucks manager fired because she misunderstood a chalkboard message written next to a picture. Ms. Mitchell works for the Portland, Or. newspaper The Oregonian. The article is a stark reminder of the power of the press and its effect on people.

3) The Maryhill Festival of Speed is being hosted by Maryhill Museum. Maryhill Museum, home to a Rodin collection, modern art and a famous 1946 French Mannequin display, is located on the Washington side of the Columbia River Gorge across from a place called Biggs Junction. It is truly the EAST side of the Cascade Mountains where barren hills are covered with sagebrush and cheat grass. It is very close to Hood River, the wind surfing capital of the world, a place of exceptional beauty too. Please go to this website…it is just astounding. I think this might be one of the coolest things I have ever seen. The designer for this website is so talented!

Did I say that I was at a loss for words? There are not enough blogs in the world to write about what we find in just one section of the newspaper. We can rant or marvel or question or simply run on and on. But a loss for words? I don’t think so.

It’s BIG PAPER DAY! I just love Sundays.

b

Leave a Reply

