I would get old if I had more time!

Jenny Joseph wrote the poem several years ago that said it for all of us. It is called ¨Warning” and starts like this.

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.

My mother said that getting old took too much time. I would have to agree. And that is only the beginning. I am sure that there are books, big books, written about the subject. Here are some of the signs of aging that I have personally noticed.

Women first get really hot! We lay claim to have caused global warming and flap the covers in the night. Then one day, just a quickly as it started, we are cold. We wear 4 layer to play a round of golf when the temperature is in the 60s and huddle in our chair in the evenings under a blanket.

We gain weight when we diet and loss weight when we eat.

Older women use lots and lots of lotions. They cost a lot. We are on a fixed income. We cannot eat the lotions. We loose our appetite when we look in the mirror so it doesn’t matter. 🙂

We sleep during the day and pace the floors at night. We will do or buy anything to get to sleep and home remedies are the topic of dinner parties and evenings out. (I personally think that a tablespoon of peanut butter helps my sleep but don’t listen to me. I’m sorta old! )

We love “organ recitals”. Those are those conversation with friends over breakfast on Sunday where we compare our various ailments including how our liver feels and where the pancreas is located.

Where once we bleached our hair white now we dye it dark brown or black.

Our children begin talking about where we will live when we cannot take care of ourselves and we talk about buying a house on a far away beach.

Mirrors lie to us and our glasses are in cahoots with our mirror.

When you reach that age where young people think you are old, you don’t feel that way. Old age moves farther away every year it seems and we are pursuing it as slow as we can. I personally don’t want to catch it!

Still we do not wish to be young. We like where we are and like the skin we live in…even if it is wrinkles! Smile.

Note: I will be returning to Arizona soon for a couple of months before the holidays. We will stay in our RV park (The Waiting Room to Heaven) and my friends from Montana and Washington will be down soon. The Slaaty Girls will be together again. This is truly a place where we feel young. It is a bit like being a member of the cast for “Cocoon“.

b

One thought on “I would get old if I had more time!

  1. If you even want to feel younger, try accompanying my parents (ages 84 and 88) to my dad’s WWII Air Force reunion on airplane trips across the country to exotic places like Des Moines, Montgomery, Oklahoma City, and Dayton. You will feel pretty young after five days of listening (AGAIN) to all of those stories about Guadalcanal and Borneo, repeating everything you say at least twice, and trying to keep all the ladies named Betty straightened out. I felt pretty young a perky after last week. I loved your blog. It made me laugh and feel normal. Old Broads Rule!!

Leave a Reply

