Georgia O’Keeffee and Me (personal observations)

Singing has always seemed to me the most perfect means of expression.
It is so spontaneous.
And after singing, I think the violin. Since I cannot sing, I paint.

Georgia O’Keeffe


I think that I see things more clearly at 66 than I did at that famous 39 years of age. I feel to the core of my being the effort and intelligence and innate talent it takes to have been a Georgia O’Keeffe.

Glorious, spirited, canvas filling, bright,…words I would use to describe the body of work she and only she could have created. But the real wonder is in the living of her life…formidable, beautiful, talented, strong, free. I invite you to go to Wikipedia or any other online website and read about the life she led during the early 20th century. As a woman, I identify with her march through life. My freedoms were won by women like her. Not politically but simply by living and being what she was meant to be.

After an afternoon reading about and looking at Georgia O’Keeffe paintings I have decided to add her to my list of heroes.

Santa Fe of the golden sun
Wrapping her arms around artists
Fills the senses until one must rest
Artistic and beautiful
She wanders the desert of our dreams
Forever feeding the soul of human kind.


b
One thought on “Georgia O’Keeffee and Me (personal observations)

Leave a Reply

