Unforgettable…Writer’s Island Prompt


As we drive down the highway I am astonished at the visusal beauty of the roadside.


There are points in our life that always resonate in the telling. They are those touch stones, as it were, for all that we are and all that we have become. Among those, of course, are the birth of our children, the death of our parents, the completion of educational goals, first loves, and visual astonishment’s. Choosing the “most” unforgettable moment is easier, I think, when you are young than it is when you become old.


I have no idea what this is. You can see it from a roadside rest area on Interstate 25 in New Mexico

I will, for example, never forget the first time I noticed that my face was wrinkled. It was such a beautiful sunny day and the mirror over the fireplace gave me the bad news. Who knew that the sunshine could bring such bad news.

The day I saw “God Speed John Glenn” written across the sky and John Glenn went into space for the second time is a favorite. But it must compete with the tall ship in Boston Harbor and the Soviet Soldiers selling uniforms so they could get the money to go home after the Soviet Union collapsed. And those two will have to stand in line as I talk about the very first time I ever flew on an airplane or traveled south and was warm in the winter.

My wedding day and the ceremony in my parent small living room was the beginning of a new life for me. (We will celebrate 46 years on November 23.) The days my three children graduated from college rank at the top right after the day I held my oldest son in my arms at the age of 1 month and his father got his masters degree. My first day teaching, the first time I played golf, the time I swam in the lagoon on Lanai, Hawaii, the tram ride in Banff in Canada at the age of 16 and my very first prom dress. My first taxi ride in Thailand and my first subway trip at rush hour in Shanghai, China are things I will never forget. My first Broadway Play, The King and I, ruined me for anything lesser and hearing Bobby Short perform at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. left me wanting to hear so much more.

I will never forget the day my friend was killed in Viet Nam or the day I called my best friend from high school on the 40th anniversary of our graduation. My first day at college was so unforgettable that I yearn to go back to college every year in September.

Today I traveled northward through New Mexico to Santa Fe and I will never never forget the trees in all their golden glory everywhere along the Rio Grande River.

If the prompt had said give me 25 most unforgettable moments I could have done that…but one? No, I don’t want to even think that way. I am almost afraid that if I choose one there will not be any more. So let me get back to you tomorrow. Something else will come along I am sure.

May your day be unforgettable in every way.

b

7 thoughts on “Unforgettable…Writer’s Island Prompt

  1. I remember the first time I noticed wrinkles too! :)I hope you don’t mind but I’m adding you to my blogroll. I’m glad you posted to Writer’s Island or I would have never found you!

  2. Hi Barbara,What a lovely posting. You have clearly enjoyed your moments along the way. It makes me stop and think about my life, too. Thank you so much for sharing your life’s most important moments with us. Happy Trails…Jan

Leave a Reply

