The Prayer of Jabez…The Secret

“And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying,
Oh that Thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that Thine hand might be with me, and that Thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me!
And God granted him that which he requested.”

I read The Secret at Christmas time. It was a gift from my family so I read it to show them how grateful I was for the gift. Then I realized that, even though the book was kind of hokey and new age, the message underlying the whole thing was a wonderful one. So I amrereading it. I thought that I had forgotten a lot about self full filling prophecies and feeling grateful for what I have. The need to believe in what we do with our lives and then do what we need to do to live a full and useful life was the over riding theme. The message I received was that we think our life into being by focusing on what we do not want and never visualizing what we can become. We need to believe and focus on the outcome as though it has already happened. For example, I always saw myself as an educated person, a good mother, a person capable of taking care of myself even though I did not arrive at that place for many many years. I simply made my own reality. These are a few of the ideas hit on in the book:

Diets: Getting fat can be about focusing on food. Seeing ourselves at the perfect weight and focusing on that takes the focus away from the food and puts it on a healthy life. When you do this you will only eat what you need! And you need to believe that that is true.

Money: Now, granted, greed is not a good thing. They talk a lot about wealth and the need for lots of money. I think that we may as well do what we have a talent for and what comes will come. A feeling of continual dissatification does not make for a very happy life. I loved the passage that stated that when you are doing what you love, it is not like work and the money you receive for doing it will be enough. In fact, I honestly believe that if you work at what you love each dollar will seem like a wonderful gift. So see yourself doing what you want, getting what you need to live the life style that fits you and then do what you need to do to make that happen. Dare to Dream as Whitney Johnson say but dream in terms of reality, today and now.

Gratitude: Be thankful. Be thankful for what you have today and the wondrous opportunities we all have. Say it outloud each and every day. “Isn’t it wonderful that I am….” “Thank you for….” The Secret, the author says, is to think of the life you will lead as a reality, giving thanks for it as though it is real. If you thank God so much the better. We need to do that always. And always remember the Prayer of Jabez: “And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, Oh that Thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that Thine hand might be with me, and that Thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me! And God granted him that which he requested.”

Generosity: I learned early in life that what I give is returned to me ten fold. We did not have any money what we were young. My husband was a teacher and I was a stay at home mom. But when we made a promise to give to our community we kept it. We never ran short because of our gift, in fact it seemed that there was always more than enough. Somehow, the way we used what we had made the donations possible. Generosity is very much a part of the whole picture.

And so it goes. Life is what we have. Don’t waste it by feeling bad and thinking of all the no’s and cannots and what if’s. What ever works for you should be your reality. If you do not move to change it who is to blame? Dare to dream now!!!

b

Please forgive the typos. My library computer time is use up. Have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

