UN Free Rice Program and More

Where am I?
I am back in Arizona again. I have been in Oregon for a week visiting my new grandson. He is so beautiful with blond hair like his daddy’s. It was wonderful.

Blog Stuff!
Several people have commented on the last blog I wrote for Three Word Wednesday and Writer’s Island. One commenter (one moe believer) had an interesting link on their blog called Free Rice. This is a website sponsored by business like itunes and etoys. You click on the website to play a vocabulary game. As each word appears, several possible meaning for each word are given. When you get the right answer the business that sponsors that page donates 20 grains of rice to the UN Free Rice program. The more right answers the more rice. Information is given on where the rice goes, who is participating, etc. You can keep going as long as you want or simply go back and play again later. A win win I think.

I won a prize!!!
I love the flash fiction website connected to The Scrawl Writers are encouraged to write and post stories of only 100 words. While a lot of the flash fiction allows 200 or more words 100 is really the big challenge. Well I wrote a story called Forgotten Magic using the word “resistance” as a prompt. My name was drawn and I won a book called The War of Art by Steven Pressfield . This is the author that wrote Bagger Vance and the sponsor of the contest recommended it highly. I am looking forward to reading it.

I am glad to be back in Arizona for a few more weeks. Oregon is cold and damp.

Just a few thoughts on this Tuesday night. Sleep well.

b

3 thoughts on “UN Free Rice Program and More

Leave a Reply

