Sunday Scribblings: The Corral

Pictures of Tucson Corral in afternoon light
by b
2008

Sunday Scribbling:
Compose

When I wander among the cactus
watching, scanning the place between my feet
I look up to see the perfect shadows of the fence row.
Shadows lengthen as the day ages
And colors appear as though painted
from a pallet mixed painstakingly.
The hand of man has not touched
The colors.
Nor has he composed the setting.
The hand of man has only tried
to corral it’s beauty.

b

On another note: Did you notice the side bar addition I put on a couple of days ago. The music from playlist.com seems to find a way to provide a back ground for the posts. Although it has no way of choosing what it is going to play with the writing, I have tried to pick songs that have a certain ring. I love music of all kinds and Chinese Folk music seems to find it way into a play list with Hank Williams and Diana Krall. I have it playing now on another tab in my Foxfire account. Wonderful!

It is Sunday, I am enjoying the absolute quiet of the Waiting Room for Heaven here in Tucson. Almost everyone has gone back to their nests in the northern US and Canada. We remain with a few others. It happens so abruptly. People go without good-by or I’ll see you next year. I always say don’t go! but they have grandchildren or lawns or a dentist appointment or a doctor’s appointment of some kind. Still I think don’t go, please don’t go! Don’t leave now. The fun has just begun.

Have a wonder day and enjoy the pictures.

b

4 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings: The Corral

  1. Hank Williams is the proper music for this post. Is this post just a fence-post of that corral that frames the beauty? I shouldn’t try to pun about such an outstanding piece with beautiful poem and lovely photos. I enjoyed it very much.

  2. The pictures are fabulous and your writing always entertaining and fun. However, the most interesting thing that happened to me tonight occured when I first clicked on your blog and heard “Havana Blues” in spanish. How did you know I was coming at that exact moment? “B you have psychic powers,” I thought to myself. 🙂 All kidding aside…your travel blog is truly inspirational.

  3. the poem was breathtaking,, to see such beauty is a gift… and the play on words with the corral its beauty,, and the wooden fence corral in the pictures was a delight…. having lived most of my life in florida,, which is totally a “snowbird” state.. i was always thrilled when they left.. i felt like i got my home back…..

Leave a Reply

