Sunday Ramblings…cat burglars and other cool stuff


I need to talk about my cat this morning. RV my cat has been a constant source of entertainment since we acquired him several years ago. (You need to visit …she’s a cat lady post from a while ago to get to know him better.)

He has been splitting his time between our house and a neighbors since last year when we left him in their care while we travels south. His routine consists of eating at home and sleeping on their little front deck on a lawn chair. They give him treats and warn other dogs and cats away. We give him a warm house, a soft sofa and a huge bowl of food.

He can go to their house anytime he is outside. AND we have two cat doors, one in the garage and another coming into the house from the garage so he can come and go at anytime his wants here too. Or at least he used to be able to do that.

When we were awoken in the middle of the night on Thursday by two cats fighting in our BEDROOM, his life of freedom came to an end. He was very disdainful of this house until he realized that other catS thought he had a pretty good deal and were moving in. To date a big black fuzzy cat, a Siamese cat and a gray and white fuzzy cat have tried to lay claim to RV’s people. Now I want you to know that got his attention.

So last night I locked the garage cat door…or at least I thought I did. After checking to see if it was secure I came back upstairs to go to bed with RV in the house. Well, there is a trick to locking a cat door I found! The deal is there are three (3) settings. Open, closed and partially closed. It seems I had locked the exit part but failed to lock the entrance part of the door. When we went into the garage on our way to Barnes and Noble this morning, all of the cats were locked in our garage!!! You have never seen so much fur standing on end in your whole life. There were screams of terror and one cat managed to break through the exit locked cat door and escape. The others were a blurred streak when the garage door opened with RV hot on their tail.

I just shake my head. This cat could be a book waiting to happen…goodness gracious!

b

Books (recently read):

Bookshelf (books to read soon):

  • Blink by Malcom Gladwell
  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Computer:

Has anyone ever used the Bambo Fun? The promotion says: Make Your Computer Your Canvas: Draw and Paint with Bamboo Fun. I just saw one the other day at a computer store and thought it looked so cool. I am waiting for some feed back on it.

The device is put out by Wacom and was priced at about $99.00. They also had professional editions available. It amused me just a little when it talked about hand writing emails to people. My finger don’t work that way but each to their own!

Magazines:

fresh (www.finecooking.com)
75 quick & simple recipies for every meal
.
I love this magazine/recipe book. Only 75 recipes, each containing things I actually had in my cupboard and refrigerator.

I tried this one. It was very good:
Indian-Spiced Shrimp.

2 Tbs. coriander seeds
2 tsp cumin seeds
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk
3 Tbs minced garlic
3 Tbs minced fresh ginger
1 1/2 lb. jumbo shrimp (or frozen)
2 Tbs. canola or vegetable oil
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 Tbs. fresh lime juice; plus 4 lime wedges for serving
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Grind spices and heat in fry pan until hot. Cool. Add to cocmut mild, garlic, ginger, shrimp and marinate in refrigerator for 10-30 minutes.

Try until shrimp are cooked (3-6 minutes) Top with cilantro and lime wedges on side. Serve with rice.

This is just a sample. Great Magazine. Good food. YUM!

My New Blog Badge

5 thoughts on “Sunday Ramblings…cat burglars and other cool stuff

  1. first off i am pretty sure that sue over at tumblewords has bamboo,, seems to me she did a post on it when she got it… second of all,, i cannot believe the cats didn’t have an all out war when they found themselves locked in the garage together!!!!!

  2. I highly recommend “The Road.” It’s one of the five pieces I chose to write about for my final MFA exam and despite it’s bleak subject matter its themes and the writing craft is why it’s clear why it won the Pulitzer. I think the film version is coming out before the end of the year so perhaps read it before the movie buzz hits.I recently finished “The Tipping Point” and will soon dive into “Blink.” If you get to it before me you’ll have to keep us updated.

Leave a Reply

