The most important list of all….


L-R Husband, Jack, me,Hollis & Mary Grace

My friend, Mary Grace, sent me an email this morning that included a “test for friends”. It was a check list of events I have experienced that reveal things about myself. I completed it and returned it to her. After I did that I was suppose to forward it to someone else, several someone “elses” if I have lots of friends.
 

Friend is not a word I take lightly.  It is reserved for a very special few.  “My friend Mary” may be one in a million but she a unique wonderful person in my world.   Does that make any sense? I really do like people. What is mine is yours (if my husband will let me I would give every thing away). So when I get an email like this I feel a sort of panic set in. I don’t want to look bad or even to feel bad about myself. I don’t have a list of 50 friends that I contact when the dog dies or my couch is on fire. I have come to realize that I need a much longer list!!!

Then an interesting thing happened. I received a phone call from a friends…friends in Ohio. They were the second couple to offer to help us with a problem we have.

I have told you that we had a flood in our winter home haven’t I? It seems that we managed to leave a situation that led to a dripping faucet which in turn flooded the kitchen, living room and hall, ruined counter tops and sub-flooring. We are told that it is a big mess. It has been a burden on our minds for over a month now.

Our friends Jack and Phylis called immediately and offered to take care of letting contractors in, etc. When our friends from Ohio called today to offer the use of their park model while we were getting ourselves moved in and straightened up, I was reminded once more that we do have a few friends around the world. Can you tell? I am smiling.

Friends Gather
Waiting Room for Heaven RV Resort
(Rincon East RV Resort)
Tucson, AZ

I am thinking that the “Test For Friends” email was a message from an angel, maybe one named Mary Grace, reminding me of all those people that really do care. It reassures me to know that these friends offer their friendship because they know I will do the same for them!

I said I need a list. The list I am making will include all the wonderful things that happen to us because of the the people that are our friends. That is the list I need most of all.

Have a wonderful day!

b

Here’s the test with my answers:
Friend Test!! Hit forward and place an X by all the things you’ve done and
> remove the X from the ones you have not. Answer the 30 questions at the end
and
> send it to your friends (including me).
> This is for your entire life!
> (no) Gone on a blind date
> (X) Skipped school
> (no) Watched someone die
> (X ) Been to Canada
> (X) Been to Mexico
> (X) Been to Florida
> (X) Been on a plane
> (X) Been lost
> (X) Been on the opposite side of the country
> (no ) Been to Washington, DC
> (X) Swam in the ocean
> (X) Cried yourself to sleep
> ( X ) Played cops and robbers
> (x) Recently colored with crayons
> (no) Sang Karaoke?
> ( x) Paid for a meal with coins only?
> (X) Done something you told yourself you wouldn’t?
> (no) Made prank phone calls?
> ( no ) Laughed until some kind of beverage came out of your nose, COME ON THAT
> HAS HAPPENED TO EVERYONE
> (X) Caught a snowflake on your tongue
> (X) Danced in the rain
> ( x) Written a letter to Santa Claus
> (X) Been kissed under the mistletoe
> ( X) Watched the sunrise with someone you care
> (X) Blown bubbles
> (X) Gone ice-skating
> (no)Been skinny dipping outdoors
> (X) Gone to the movies
> (X) Gotten a speeding ticket
> 1. Any nickname? Barbie (very, very close friend)
> 2. Favorite Drink? Expensive Wine
> 3. Mother’s name? A.B.
> 4. Tattoo? Nope
> 5. Body Piercing? no
> 6. How much do you love your job? My job is perfect…I don’t go to work.
> 7. Birthplace? Oregon
> 8. Favorite vacation? Ko Samui, Thailand
> 9. Ever been to Africa? No
> 10. Ever eaten cookies for dinner? Yes, ofcourse
> 11. Ever been on TV? no
> 12. Ever steal any traffic sign? no
> 13. Ever been in a car accident? yes
> 14. Drive a 2-door or 4-door vehicle? 4 door
> 15. Favorite salad dressing? wine vinegar and oil (see 2. above)
> 17. Favorite number? 5
> 18 Favorite Movie? Gladiator
> 19. Favorite holiday? Valentine’s Day
> 20. Favorite Dessert? pie
> 21. Favorite food? pasta
> 22. Favorite day of the week? Tuesdays 🙂
> 23. Favorite brand of Body Wash? n/a
> 24. Favorite toothpaste? Don’t Care
> 26. What do you do to relax? write,read, drink-not necessarily in that order.
> 28. How do you see yourself in 10 years? Perking along…ignoring the bad,
enjoying the good!
> 29. Furthest place you will send this message? Ohio
> 30. Who will respond to this the fastest? Jan Hughes
> 31. Who won’t bother to respond? Let’s think positive…at least one or two.

One thought on “The most important list of all….

Leave a Reply

