Sunday Ramblings: Books and Blogs

When Sunday comes here in Oregon
my thoughts turn to Sunday Ramblings.
When it snows,
I sit in my bed late in the morning
watching the world from my window,
life is perfect. . .really!

Books on my shelf:

I finished reading a book this week that helped me create the dialogue in the blog I wrote yesterday. Writing: Realistic Dialogue and Flash Fiction A THOROUGH PRIMER FOR WRITERS OF FICTION AND ESSAYS written by Harvey Stanbrough was a perfect read for a self-taught writer. The book was aimed at the beginning writer and contained the perfect amount of humor mixed in with succinct information. I can see this book being used in the classroom of Writing 101. The book had a workable glossary at the end and chapters on tag lines, rhythm of writing and basic reminders about ‘beginning, middle and end’ when writing flash fiction. The chapter called ‘How to Lose a Reader” not only made me laugh but also made me feel a little silly/embarrassed for some of things I have written. So this one was added to my reference shelf. I will probably share it with a grandchild before very long. (College is approaching rapidly).

Have you read The Ribbon Walk by Carrie Brown? What an absolute delightful little book. Sony has it out on ebooks now. I could not find it at my local Barnes and Noble but you can order it online. A little sleeper book like this should be featured on their tables year after year. The book was published in May of 2008 so is relatively new. No sex or blood; just two lovely children thrown together by circumstances, filled with good intentions that somehow go awry. It would be a perfect gift for a teen and should appeal to everyone, no matter what their age. Sony said:

In The Rope Walk, Carrie Brown crafts a luminous story of a young girl’s coming of age during a crucial summer in New England.

On her tenth birthday Alice meets two visitors to her quiet town: Theo, the African American grandson of her father’s best friend, and Kenneth, an artist who has come home to convalesce. Theo forms an instant bond with Alice that will indelibly change them both. The pair in turn befriend Kenneth, and decide to build a “rope walk” through the woods for him, allowing to make his way through the outdoor world he has always loved. But their good intentions lead to surprising consequences, and Alice soon learns how different the world of children and adults really are.

Blog of Interest

Rebecca over at Just a Thought posted a blog that made me laugh. “The Prince of Darkness” brought her to her knees. She took a class from a professor that didn’t hesitate to harass her out of her comfort zone and make her stretch her talent to it’s limits. Most of the people that commented on the blog sympathized with her. . . I thought they missed the point. Teaching styles are different, professors do what they have too. Rebecca is an educator, an adult and I think she was wise to his ways. Students in college get tough and work hard. Rebecca intended to make us laugh I think. As for me, that is why I don’t take classes. I don’t want to know what people think; that scares me to death. Rebecca, on the other hand, is extremely talented and professional in her approach to writing. I know she doesn’t like the guy but I am thinking she knows she will go back for more. Right Rebecca?

The weather outside is frightful, the fire is so delightful
Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Have a wonderful week.

b

Incidentally, Keith, how do I add that music?

8 thoughts on “Sunday Ramblings: Books and Blogs

  1. That sounds like an interesting book, although I must admit I’ve never read a how to book on writing, or taken a writing class. I decided, when I began writing, it would be me and no one else. It meant several years of constantly ripping up manuscripts though 🙂

  2. I really like your opening picture and poem, such a place of peace. I too read about Rebecca’s travails with her professor. Some writers do need that kind of intellectual (dare I say masculine?) challenge; other writers prefer a more nurturing approach. I’m with you — The most helpful book I just read on writing was by Sandra Scofield, The Scene Book: A Primer for the Fiction Writer . It’s a little book but absolutely useful! May your writing continue to go well.

  3. Oh, Barbara, thank you for noting my POD (Prince of Darkness) post. Yes, it was supposed to be funny because I find if you don’t laugh at what life throws at you, you’ll cry. Of the two, I always opt for the former. And I posted a POD – Part Deux, writing of the curve the POD threw at me. Oh, PODdy, PODdy, he turned out to be such an enigma. And, I facetiously said I hated him, but didn’t; I actually like and appreciate men who challenge me (i rant and rave the entire time, however) – what the heck does that say about me, huh? And, obviously, I will return for another torture session…*sigh*Barbara – if this is your room, it is sooooo inviting! How can you not spend hours there lost in reading? I’ll have to go and look for that book on writing – sounds like a good reference book to have on a bookshelf…

  4. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.Susanhttp://www.car-insurance-choices.com

Leave a Reply

