Sunday Rambling + Sunday Scribblings…Late

I is Sunday evening. Turns out our son and his family drove to Portland from San Francisco, Ca…no luggage give what they carried on the plane in China on our Friday night. They waited around for two hours in San Francisco for it to unload and finally just abandoned it after they had booked a flight for tonight and left the airport to begin the REAL journey home. They simply rented a car and began driving home. They made it to Redding, Ca. last night at about 10:30 pm and were back on the road this morning at 6:30 am. The car they rented was over $300 a day so they returned it to the airport here in PDX, picked up the rental they had reserved last summer. They pulled into their condo driveway at 5:30 pm. Friday Night departed Shanghai, China: Sunday night arrived in Portland, Oregon. PLANES, …..AND AUTOMOBILES. It did occur to them that they would never see the luggage again but it just didn’t make any difference to them.

Really, in the scheme of things it is not important…there is world hunger, families without homes and war. It all just boils down to what is closest to home. I feel rich when I have all the scotch tape I need and truly blessed when all my family is safe. If you to were to ask me which material possession I treasure the most, I would not be able to tell you. None of it is important if there is not enough scotch tape or if my family is hurting in any way. Why scotch tape you ask? Well it is all about the gifts!

I might add that I do not find any comfort knowing that I have enough when other go without. I get those messages all the time that tell me that a huge percentage of the population is hungry and I should feel so lucky. But I don’t. I don’t feel lucky when my neighbor goes hungry.

As Christmas approaches, the closeness of loved ones gives us all strength. As my son talked to his brother, sister, niece and the rest of us, I realized that we form a unit, a whole. While we function in unique and wonderful ways on our own, when we are together there is a magic that happens that cannot be accounted for. I hope all families feel that way. It is not our monetary worth or our influence. It is our love for each other. Important and profound.

Have a lovely week and a beautiful holiday.

Three more sleeps my beautiful children.

b

One thought on “Sunday Rambling + Sunday Scribblings…Late

  1. It all just boils down to what is closest to home. I feel rich when I have all the scotch tape I need and truly blessed when all my family is safe. If you to were to ask me which material possession I treasure the most, I would not be able to tell you. None of it is important if there is not enough scotch tape or if my family is hurting in any way. Why scotch tape you ask? Well it is all about the gifts!this was one of the cutrst and most meaningful lines i read !!

Leave a Reply

