Sunday Scribblings…for richer, for poorer…


When the sun spills
Through a winter cloud
All the beauty of nature
Lays at our doorstep.
We are “richer” for it’s gifts!
We do not know the meaning
Of the word “poorer!”

Sunday Scribblings
…for rich, for poorer…

If you were suddenly poor and could only have the basics in life, what is it you would miss more than anything else…butter? coffee? shampoo? the newspaper? dish detergent? the dishwasher? Scotch Tape?

I wrote a piece for Divine Caroline a couple of weeks ago about a dish I make called “Spanish Macaroni”. I called it depression food…a commenter called it comfort food. Depression food is the food that you can make with almost nothing. It can feed a family of 5 for a few cents a serving. Yet when the children leave home it will be the first recipe they ask you to send. My children called home for the home made noodle recipe and Spanish Macaroni. Cheap, make do, filling food. In the end, at least for them, they would probably rather do without some other fancy luxury than the comfort food.

As for me, you all know I don’t want to be without Scotch Tape. That is the ultimate luxury; one I will not be willing to give up. I would hate to give up coffee…I get a head ache, I have drunk it since my first day at college and it wakes me up every morning. I love coffee. I don’t care about the newspaper but I don’t want my husband to do without it…he reads it to me you know and I like that. I never could give up my bottle of Ivory dish detergent. I can keep a bottle that is empty, put half a new bottle in it, fill both bottles with water and it seems to last forever. I think I am living Green but I might just be cheap. Because I like my Ivory, the dishwasher is just not important. It is a luxury I use every day but could do without.

There have been times during my lifetime when we diluted the shampoo and the dish detergent, used plastic bags and coffee filters more than once, mixed powdered milk for my children, didn’t have Scotch Tape and I fixed the macaroni dish at least once a week. But we have never been hungry or even without a job. I would think that any family that was as fortunate as we are would feel secure. My wish for the new year is that I will not feel fat while my neighbor suffers.

So “for richer, for poorer” is not something I have ever thought about. We are at our richest when we are together…even if it is around a camp fire, sleeping on the ground, fishing for dinner and washing on a rock. I have done all these things for short periods of time. It would be extremely hard to live that way the year around. But my point it, it does not mean that we would be either richer or poorer. Life would be simply different.

Homemade noodles:

4 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon salt.
3 (or less) cups flour

Mix eggs, milk, salt. Add flour until dough is fairly stiff. Knead until smooth. Roll out and cut with a noodle cutter or roll and cut into 1/4 in slices. Boil in chicken broth until tender. I like lots of broth and I boil the noddles for 10 or more minutes until the noddles are tender. I add diced chicken, chopped onion and a little soy sauce. YUM!!!

Macaroni recipe is on the Divine Caroline link above.

Have a wonderful week.

b

2 thoughts on “Sunday Scribblings…for richer, for poorer…

  1. We didn’t have much growing up with six kids and a minister father. My mom was good at making meals from nothing! My favorite was bisquits and gravy! The pleasure of coffee would be one thing I would greatly miss.

  2. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.Joycehttp://www.videophonesguide.com

Leave a Reply

