I cast many a wistful, melancholy look towards the sea.

WORD OF THE DAY: WISTFUL

“Lifting up one of my sashes,
I cast many a
wistful,
melancholy look towards the sea.”
Swift.


It occurred to me today, as I was reading a post on the Birchsprite blog, that I have always loved the word. Wistful, that feeling of yearning that weighs on our hearts…an old love, a scent of the lilacs, a simpler time or place…will make us sigh and glance over our shoulder to see if the past is watching.

In the blog Birchsprite mentioned a link between the present, and the past when the writer felt that they had “…had a lucky escape or two.” Don’t you think that life is sweeter after a “lucky escape”? I could not help but think that, if I could do life over, I would be more adventurous and less fearful. A lucky escape is a good thing.

Sigh!!!

b

2 thoughts on “I cast many a wistful, melancholy look towards the sea.

Leave a Reply

