Carry On Tuesday…Only the wind will know!


Whether I shall turn out
To be the hero of my own life
Is not mine to say.
The fates are deciding for me.

My life may turn out to be a wreck
Made up of missteps
Words I did not intend for you.
If that should be the way it is
I beg you forgiveness.

In all things I am but a wisp of smoke in the wind.
Effort to do the right
May be blown away by that wrong stronger yet.
I lead my life with an open hand…not a controlling one.
Knowing this does not defeat me.
The knowing allows me to go on with each day.
I am grateful for what I see out my window.

As for being a hero,
Well you may write it on my tombstone
I will be the wisp of wind that blows over the words
Ever so gently.

b

9 thoughts on “Carry On Tuesday…Only the wind will know!

  1. Barbara, I really enjoyed this line here…"In all things I am but a wisp of smoke in the wind." I so agree with this 100%Great take of the prompt

  2. I hope that whoever writes the words about me does acknowledge that I tried to do the right thing with my life. I really like the sense of optimism in your poem as well as the use of the wind.

Leave a Reply

