Adventure: It’s All in Your Attitude

Saturday, October 31, 2009

#187 – Adventure

Setting out on an adventure is one thing…planning on climbing a very high mountain? Pack your gear, plot your course, invite a friend, check the weather and tell everyone where you are going. You are setting out on a BIG adventure.

We, on the other hand, have never really SET OUT to go on an adventure. An adventure is what happens to us on our way to do whatever we had actually planned to do. My husband and I always feel a little sorry for people that live where ever we are going. Whether they know it or not, they are probably in for a storm, earth quake, war or something even worse. At this point in our lives we just expect that an adventure will happen. Our children hug us extra tight when we leave…I once told other tourist on a beach in Mexico that we were going deep sea fishing the next day with an untried old fisherman with a questionable boat and if we don’t come back “tell my family I love them”. My husband insisted that we would be just fine. I was not all that certain. Of course I planned on coming back but I was thinking just in case….

G. K. Chesterton said “An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.” I think that is very true. Life is just too uncertain to take anything seriously…I have come to believe that life is all about adventures and bragging rights.

Have a wonderful week…

b

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One thought on “Adventure: It’s All in Your Attitude

Leave a Reply

