Used Book suggestion and Carry on Tuesday Prompt

It seems I get  caught up in a story.   I will check out for days on end.  My husband has learned to live with this personality trait but has never learned to love it.   I am currently reading the story of Magellan’s circumnavigation of the world called Over the Edge of the World written by Laurence Bergreen.  I love these tales of adventure and daring…I actually will wish that the actors on that stage would make a different choice when I read it through.  Even though I know the history was written all those hundreds of years ago, I feel a sort of anger at the author for needing to tell me all the details.  Nuts huh!  This author has done a beautiful job of writing a thriller…even though it is a historically correct book.  I am reminded of Undaunted Courage and the emotional response I had to that book written by Stephen Ambrose.

I bought this book at Powell’s Book Store here in Portland.  This is the most amazing book store in the WORLD!!!  They are located in an old labyrinth of a building on West Burnside in Portland, Oregon.  When you do a google search for them this is what you will see….and it is totally true!

Powell’s BooksUsed, New, and Out of Print – We Buy and Sell

Powell’s Books is the largest independent used and new bookstore in the world. We carry an extensive collection of out of print rare, and technical titles

 I now see this title can be purchased as a used book in a hard cover from Amazon for around $5.00.  Darn!!!  I think I paid full price.

Carry on Tuesday has a quote from Ella Wheeler Wilcox.  Keith suggested the next to the last line “we laugh, we weep, we hope, we fear” serve as an inspiration for a bit of writing this week.   It may seem melodramatic in these times…our hearts on our sleeve as it were.  But the truth is she was right…each year is a full circle of life, death and dreams realized or lost.  When I read the poem,  I could only wonder at a year holding all these things.  Happy New Year everyone. 

b

What can be said in New Year rhymes,
….
We hug the world until it stings,
We curse it then and sigh for wings.
….
We wreathe our prides, we sheet our dead.
We laugh, we weep, we hope, we fear,
And that’s the burden of a year.
Ella Wheeler Wilcox
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “Used Book suggestion and Carry on Tuesday Prompt

  1. I have been pretty much of a fiction reader and a non-fiction writer. Your description of Over the Edge of the World does sound entriguing. I may just have to check it out. I never thought of a new year being a burden, but I do think you are correct. That must be why so many make resolutions they more then not fail to carry through. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

