Perfection!

I suggest you listen to the music as you read.
Milestone
PERFECTION
i don’t know how it happened
the beginning of the quest.
i searched for the golden prize
along with all the rest.

the herd was hiding what i sought
the dark shadows took their shape,
i fought an inner battle
blocking my own escape.

the need to reach a milestone 
became a millstone around my neck,
the road that led to perfection
was rougher than I was told to expect.

perfection didn’t get closer 
at the dawning of the day.
i at last cut away the millstone
the milestone still far away.
the idealistic milestone 
was a creation of my mind
i was chasing an illusion
looking for what I could not find.

b
3 thoughts on “Perfection!

Leave a Reply

