Blogging Downturn…how many words does it take?

BLOGGING HABITS CHANGE
I saw an article in Christian Science Monitor this morning talking about the decrease in blogging.  It seems the ‘micro blogging’ is the new thing.  Twitter, Facebook and all other social networking sites are becoming  flash blogging post site.   I suppose  most people don’t have THAT much to say but still feel the need to keep the world in their personal loop.  Pews Research had this to say about blogging trends:

Could it be that blogs have become online fodder for the — gasp! — more mature reader?

A new study has found that young people are losing interest in long-form blogging, as their communication habits have become increasingly brief, and mobile. Tech experts say it doesn’t mean blogging is going away. Rather, it’s gone the way of the telephone and e-mail — still useful, just not sexy.

Only 14% of teens are blogging now as compared to 25% in 2006.  Is it just me or do we all know that when teens take up a trend adults will not be far behind!

WHY DO WE BLOG
My daughter-in-law began a blog several years ago to record the life of her daughter, Maddie.  Maddie’s Minute has become very popular with her set of friends in the ex-patriot  community.  She does not care if anyone reads.  She just wants Maddie to be able to come back and see what was up when she was 4.  Amanda’s focus is not selling or even being recognized.  She is very clear about what she want to accomplish.

I began blogging as a way to tell my grandchildren about my travels.  My husband and I were in China at the time.  I wanted the her school to share the pictures and text with her class.  The school, at that time, was afraid I was a cyber terrorist and would not allow it.

I was hooked and writing, something I had dreamed of all my life, became purposeful for me without a publisher.  The whole blogging space on the internet fascinated me.  It still does.  I will spend at least three hours a day doing research for an article or looking for interesting news or blogs that will light the creative fire.  I learn something every time I turn the computer on.  For me that is what it is all about.  Since that very small beginning about 5 years ago, I added 2 other blogs.  Each one has a different purpose.  It is a ‘right brain’, ‘left brain’, ‘big mouth’ world inside my head.   I have found a writing purpose for all parts of my personality. 

WHAT IS THE NEXT STEP
So what do I think is happening with the decrease in blogging?  I think that all the wannabes, half-hearted or very busy bloggers are going to go away.  When that happens, blogging will morph into a more focused group of serious purposeful writers. Blogging, like all things in technology, will not look the same 5 years from now.  It will be fun to watch.

As for teens, brain researchers are very interested in how the world they have grown up in will affect their brain functioning…and perhaps their attention span.  But that is a whole other story.

b
My other blogs:
Retire In Style Blog
Just Give Me the Facts

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “Blogging Downturn…how many words does it take?

  1. When I first discovered blogging, I had high hopes for my teen-aged students. They were actually writing instead of texting! But they didn't post long before they gave up, and even on facebook, they gave way to the tidal wave of adults who are exuberant about reconnecting with old friends. I think it's because they have so little to say, and don't have the patience to say even that.

  2. Hi Barbara,Technology and the internet have become the albatrosses to the young. Because of it, they no longer read books as they should; because of it, their attention spans have significantly decreased thereby creating a serious problem with knowledge retention; because of it, they have "dumbed" down as many experts are now finding.And, this is not just happening to teens however. Many adults who are allured by this dark side of the internet are finding themselves addicted and having the same problems. I started my blog as a venue for my words to finally fill a space that I could call my own. And, if others came and read it and enjoyed it, the better. But I confess that I too have fallen prey to the dark side of the internet and no longer read as I once had and my attention seems to be helter-skelter. That is why this year I made a resolution to put a stop on this fast-moving train wreck. I am once again going back to my old ways with, of course, a sprinkling of the new ways. Moderation is key as in everything else.

  3. Thank you Rebecca and Lillibeth for your comments. I do agree that the internet and all things that relate to technology are changing the way we think and process knowledge. It is going to be very interesting to see where it all takes us. Processing of information will be much different in those generations to come. As parents and teachers we have our work cut out for us!b

Leave a Reply

