A Box of Books…my traveling library!

I have this box of books I travel with.  In this day and age the idea of traveling with books seems very old fashioned to me but yet I do it.  They are like a security blanket in a way.  I can look at them and my mind comes alive.  Here they are:

  • Mary Oliver‘s New and Selected Poems, volume 1.  I was leafing through her poetry yesterday and found this stanza and it fit perfectly into the fabric of my life.  We have just returned from a month in China and Vietnam so I think you will see why.

Sunrise

this morning
climbing, the familiar hills
in the familiar
fabric of dawn, I thought 

of China
and India
and Europe, and I thought
how the sun 

blazes for everyone just
so joyfully
as it rises 

  • Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass.  This very thick paperback book welcomes me to flip to any page to see if I can draw some inspiration or meditation waking up my mind.  Today I turned to the Inscriptions section to find this.  I could only think how modern he would be even today.

One’s-self I SingOne’s-self 

I sing, a simple separate person
Yet utter the word Democratic, the word En-masse.

Of Physiology from top to toe I sing,
Not physiognomy alone nor brain alone is worth for the Muse, I say the Form complete is worthier far,  The Female equally with the Male I sing.

Of Life immense in passion, pulse and power,
Cheerful, for freest action from’s under the law devine,
The Modern Man I sing.

    • Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point follow me everywhere.  If you have not read these books you are missing an opportunity to understand what is happening before your very eyes.  These books explain our society and the way we perceive what is happening around us.  The subtitles are perfect; The power of thinking without thinking! (Blink) and How little things can make a big difference! (The Tipping Point).  In reference to this author I would also suggest that you watch his TED talks.  This man is amazingly perceptive and really funny.

Thank you for stopping by.

b

One thought on “A Box of Books…my traveling library!

Leave a Reply

