Faces

The photo album lies open on the table and faces look up at me. I cannot help but wonder what they looked like when they were young. All I can see are the images of very old, used up people. They were in their thirties.

Teeth removed early in life left the mouth sunken somehow. Any sign of the buck toothed boy or gap toothed girl disappeared. All the faces were the same. I looked for myself in their portraits…my grandmother or my aunties stood looking me in the eye. But I was no where to be found.

Where did i belong in that album…or did I belong there at all.

b+

Leave a Reply

